Skip to content

Truth in mathematics

September 25, 2011

I encounter mathematicians in the Internet often. Lately I had a discussion with the type who says that the axioms of mathematics are something arbitrary and has no reference to truth. I must be old school as this sounded strange to me because I always thought that and have been taught that they are self evident truth. Mind you the gentleman came from a more applied branch of mathematics and not a mathematical logician himself so I suspect he is not well versed with foundational issues. It seemed to me that this rather post-modern approach is being picked up by today’s undergraduates too. I think it should be a worry. Such indifference to truth is not something I encountered 30 years ago when I was an undergraduate.

So it is quite a joy to stumble upon papers that promote the same idea as what I was taught, that one criteria for picking up an axiom is that it should be self-evidently true. Here is one paper from IJPAM wherein the author in picking up an axiom to extend ZFC set theory, relied on the idea of truth.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

