Skip to content

Oxford Course on Mathematicians and their Gods

March 21, 2012

I looked at a survey done on mathematicians and it is no exaggeration to say that majority of them are Platonists. The interesting aspect is that majority of them also identify themselves as atheists. I find this interesting but hard to imagine how one can be a Platonist and not believe in the plausibility of metaphysical entities, like a Super Being. At least here, my favorite math guy Kurt Gödel had been consistent, he was a confirmed Platonist and a Theist.

That was just my yarn above. The main point is I just like to share this course being held at Oxford University (I think this would be a lot of fun, if only I could attend). The details of the course is found here

Coming up next, a review of Rebecca Goldstein’s  Incompleteness: The Proof and Paradox of Kurt Gödel.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. December 2, 2012 4:29 pm

    You might find some support for this idea in my article: Evolution versus Intelligent Design: a Mathematicians view at my webpages under Views: at http://web.maths.unsw.edu.au/~norman/views.htm

    • December 4, 2012 2:12 pm

      Hi Prof. Norman,

      I am reading your paper with great interest. I have not finished yet. To start off it is a creative piece on how maths can enlighten to discussion of the existence of an intelligent entity that predates the universe.

      I arrived at the same conclusion with a much stronger assertion but not with maths but through philosophy when I dropped my atheism to theism, just prior to graduating my undergraduate degree. That journey has progressed further up.

      I think you have an exciting insight using maths for this topic. I will try and respond a bit later.

      As an aside, IMHO Platonic Maths is not compatible with Atheism.

      More later…
      LPC

Leave a Reply

