Skip to content

I don’t do for-loops

September 8, 2021

I have been programming now in R for at least 7 years and never once have I needed to resort to a for-loop. In fact I also never resort to while or until loops

I have always managed to avoid it with the apply family of functions.

Then today, I was defining a function with two variables where one of them has to be a regex. Instead, of calling it from the outside and passing these, I “curried” it and I felt good about it.

Now, if you know what I meant by that, then you are a functional programmer who will very likely be happy with R, but if you don’t see what I mean, I can see why you will pooh-pooh R, I get it, it is not for you.

No comments yet

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.